Trying to find the best way to slash your way through an army of stormtroopers, force push your way through battle droids, and show the true power of the force. In the second entry of the Star Wars: Jedi series Star Wars Jedi: Survivor developed by Respawn, our friend Cal Kestis has picked up a few new tricks since his last adventure through the galaxy. I’m here to let you know about the tips and new ways Respawn has expanded on the Jedi: Survivor combat system to make you feel like a true Jedi Knight.

New Stances

Back in the first game, there were many ways to combat your opponents using the two stances: single-blade and double-blade. In Jedi: Survivor, Respawn did add three more additional stances to flesh out their combat system even further. Each stance can provide a different approach to how the player can tackle a situation that occurs in the game. Are you surrounded by stormtroopers? Ambushed by a bounty hunter? Or find yourself face to face with a Dark Side user of the force? Let’s go over ways you can overcome any encounter.

There are many ways to fight enemies in Jedi: Survivor

What’s New With the Combat in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor?

Single-Blade Stance

First, let’s get started with the tried and true single-blade combat stance. Very much like the first game, this stance is the most balanced and well-rounded stance of the five with average damage, speed, and range. In almost any situation you can find the single-blade stance to be reliable. Don’t feel like you need to use the other four stances as you unlock them.

Double-Bladed Stance

If you find yourself to be more of a Darth Maul fan then it’s time to celebrate because the double-bladed stance has found its way back. With the double blade, you may find yourself sacrificing a little bit of speed compared to the single blade, but it more than makes up for it with its increased range and every move including force attacks being an area of effect moves giving players the opportunity to attack multiple enemy’s at once. Finding yourself surrounded in all directions and needing the pressure off. The double-bladed stance is the perfect option for you and it also just looks awesome.

RELATED  The Backstory Behind the Diverticulitis Controversy in AEW Fight Forever

Dual Wield Stance

Going on to one of the brand new stances added to the game. The duel wield stance is a great new addition made better for players that like to prioritize speed and pressure on their opponents when playing. It is also the only stance that has a dedicated force parry system so even as you are being attacked by the enemy, players have the ability to follow up with a counter and continue to apply pressure to whatever foe stands in Cal’s way. The duel wield stance is best suited for small groups of enemies or one on one encounters with bosses allowing players to be able to focus their pressure.

Cross Guard Stance

Now for all the Kylo Ren fans. The cross guard stance is for all the players that want to hit hard. This stance may suffer from being the slowest with long start-up times for attacks, but with the amount of damage dealt to enemies, you can find yourself taking them out with very few hits, if not completely one hit killing enemies. My recommendation is to use this stance when you find yourself in one on one situation with a high-damage enemy. With patience and well-timed strikes, it can even turn the tide in boss battles.

RELATED  The Mandalorian And Grogu Head to the Big Screen

Blaster Stance

The final and arguably the most interesting stance addition to the game is the blaster stance. As the great Obi-Wan said, “This stance may not be the most civilized for a Jedi Knight,” but does it bring great versatility to the gameplay. Having more variety to ranged gameplay allows you to combo blaster shots with your standard lightsaber attacks. The best ability for this stance is a move called quick draw; allowing you to charge a shot that allows players to target multiple enemy’s at once.

If you want to be able to be up close but still have the opportunity to blast a stormtrooper from the other side of the room then this stance should be right up your alley.

May the Force Be With You

Wielding a lightsaber may be a Star Wars fan’s dream but it is not all that comes with being a Jedi Knight; You can use additional force abilities with any stance. Force abilities are critical for players to be able to conquer any and all obstacles in Cal’s way. Abilities such as force push and pull make their return alongside twin pull that allows you to force pull not only one but two enemies toward Cal.

Confuse allows Cal to use his Jedi mind trick on enemies to help aid him in battle. Focused sight gives Cal the skills to automatically dodge incoming melee attacks with only the press of one button. Finally, the strongest ability of the bunch is slow. When you fill up the bar, it gives Cal the chance to force slow all enemies caught in its area of effect. This allows players the chance to deal damage and take down enemies with no retaliation for a brief time. All in all, let’s just say that the force will always be with you.

RELATED  A Car Crashed Into A Video Game Store And Destroyed The Place

An Improvement in Every Way

In this sequel, Respawn has expanded and increased the fun that comes with already well-crafted combat mechanics. A downside is that players can only place and use two of the five stances simultaneously. Just imagining switching between all five stances at any time for any combat situation would be a dream come true. Maybe in a third entry to the franchise, Respawn can add this feature. But we received a massive improvement from what we had in Fallen Order.

The combat in Jedi: Survivor has many ways you can express yourself and prioritize different methods for players to approach various encounters and enemy’s during their many game play-throughs. Looking at the strengths and weaknesses of the stances and force abilities stated in this article, you may survive anything Star Wars: Jedi Survivor force throws your way.

Star Wars: Jedi Survivor is currently available, on PlayStation 5, Xbox series X and S, and PC.

Leave a comment