The late 2000s experienced an alien invasion that would forever alter cinema and CGI: the Transformers movies produced by Michael Bay.

Garnering very mixed, often negative, reactions, these Transformers movies nonetheless captivated audiences. Michael Bay successfully popularized film techniques that action movies and CGI have since seized upon and flourished with.

16 years after this series began, with Transformers: Rise of the Beasts now out in theaters and available through select digital platforms, new fans of the franchise can use this list as a guide to watching the movies that came before.

The Bayverse

Michael Bay, producer of Transformers

Michael Bay’s Transformers films were released in chronological order:

  1. Transformers (2007)
  2. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (2009)
  3. Transformers: Dark of the Moon (2011)
  4. Transformers: Age of Extinction (2014)
  5. Transformers: The Last Knight (2017)

The Soft Reboots

Bumblebee from Transformers movies

Subsequently, after the fifth installment of the Bayverse movies, the franchise went under a soft reboot. The first of this new installment was Bumblebee. As the Bayverse petered out, the 2018 film breathed new life into the series. At the same time that it respected its predecessors by acknowledging past lore, it also brought a rejuvenating restart to the Transformers series.

  1. Bumblebee (2018)
  2. Transformers: Rise of the Beasts (2023)

Leave a comment