Ever since Star Wars was first introduced to the world in 1977, people and fans have been continuously treated to an unforgettable and fantastical retreat to a galaxy far, far away.  With Lucasfilms pumping out Star Wars content constantly, it may drive some newcomers to the franchise to wonder, “Where do I start?” Hopefully, our guide to how to watch the Star Wars movies in order will help all those curious about where to begin. All of these films are available on Disney+.

STAR WARS EPISODE 1 – The Phantom Menace (1999)

Directed by: George Lucas

Synopsis from IMDB: “Two Jedi escape a hostile blockade to find allies and come across a young boy who may bring balance to the Force, but the long dormant Sith resurface to claim their original glory.”

STAR WARS EPISODE 2 – Attack of the Clones (2002)

Directed by: George Lucas

Synopsis from IMDB: “Ten years after initially meeting, Anakin Skywalker shares a forbidden romance with Padmé Amidala, while Obi-Wan Kenobi discovers a secret clone army crafted for the Jedi.”

STAR WARS EPISODE 3 – Revenge of the Sith (2005)

Directed by: George Lucas

Synopsis from IMDB: “Three years into the Clone Wars, Obi-Wan pursues a new threat, while Anakin is lured by Chancellor Palpatine into a sinister plot to rule the galaxy.”

RELATED  What Time Does Star Wars: The Acolyte Come Out?

Solo: A Star Wars Story (2018)

Directed by: Ron Howard

Synopsis from IMDB: “Board the Millennium Falcon and journey to a galaxy far, far away in an epic action-adventure that will set the course of one of the Star Wars saga’s most unlikely heroes: Han Solo.”

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (2016)

Directed by: Gareth Edwards

Synopsis from IMDB: “In a time of conflict, a group of unlikely heroes band together on a mission to steal the plans to the Death Star, the Empire’s ultimate weapon of destruction.”

STAR WARS EPISODE 4 – A New Hope (1977)

Directed by: George Lucas

Synopsis from IMDB: “Luke Skywalker joins forces with a Jedi Knight, a cocky pilot, a Wookiee and two droids to save the galaxy from the Empire’s world-destroying battle station, while also attempting to rescue Princess Leia from the mysterious Darth Vader.”

STAR WARS EPISODE 5 – The Empire Strikes Back (1980)

Directed by: Irvin Kershner

Synopsis from IMDB: “After the Rebels are overpowered by the Empire, Luke Skywalker begins his Jedi training with Yoda, while his friends are pursued across the galaxy by Darth Vader and bounty hunter Boba Fett.”

STAR WARS EPISODE 6 – Return of the Jedi (1983)

Directed by: Richard Marquand

Synopsis from IMDB: After rescuing Han Solo from Jabba the Hutt, the Rebels attempt to destroy the second Death Star, while Luke struggles to help Darth Vader back from the dark side.

RELATED  Liam Neeson Doesn't Like Star Wars Spinoffs


Directed By: J.J. Abrams

Synopsis from IMDB: “As a new threat to the galaxy rises, Rey, a desert scavenger, and Finn, an ex-stormtrooper, must join Han Solo and Chewbacca to search for the one hope of restoring peace.”


Directed By: Rian Johnson

Synopsis from IMDB: The Star Wars saga continues as new heroes and galactic legends go on an epic adventure, unlocking mysteries of the Force and shocking revelations of the past.


Directed By: J.J. Abrams

Synopsis from IMDB: In the riveting conclusion of the landmark Skywalker saga, new legends will be born-and the final battle for freedom is yet to come.

I hope this short guide has helped in helping you determine the watch order of this beloved franchise.  Of course, you can watch the movies in any order you’d like.  (The Clone Wars was the first film I watched before watching the original trilogy).  But if you want to enjoy the story chronologically, you can’t go wrong with this watch order. If you’re interested in getting started on reading the novels, you can check out more of our lists here.

Leave a comment